Since 2007 the Insurance Brokers Association of Nova Scotia (IBANS) has honored those working in the insurance industry of Nova Scotia through its awards program.

The awards were designed to celebrate those outstanding individuals who exemplify the characteristics that have helped to build a strong and resilient insurance community. The program has undergone many evolutions and a rebranding in 2016 when it officially became the Aspire Awards.

Although paused since 2020, this time has been used to review and update the entire program. Some of the changes include a longer nomination period; a new award category; an expanded independent panel of judges comprised of industry professionals; and a new simplified online nomination process. In addition, the criteria and awards themselves have been updated to more adequately reflect the changing roles of the profession.

We are excited to launch this year’s newly updated Aspire Awards and look forward to recognizing those in the insurance community for their leadership and achievements. The award winners will be revealed during our annual Awards and Graduation dinner held during Insurance Broker Month, in April.

This year submissions will also be extended to include the 2020 and 2021 years. To nominate a deserving individual, we invite you to review the new categories and accompanying criteria.


Award Categories

There are five categories all with their own specific criteria. We recommend that those considering a candidate for any of the categories review the requirements carefully and remember that the submission will be the only factor determining the selection of a candidate, so please provide as much detail and facts as possible.
 Lifetime Achievement Award posted on November 5, 2021
 Emerging Professional of the Year Award posted on November 5, 2021
 Insurance Company Representative of the Year Award posted on November 5, 2021
 Broker Leadership Award – NEW posted on November 5, 2021
 Above & Beyond Award posted on November 5, 2021


Nomination Process

Nominations are open from November 15 to January 25.

The nomination period for consideration is calendar year, however we have extended it this year to include accomplishments achieved in 2020 as well as 2021.

Anyone eligible to submit a nomination must do so utilizing the official online form found on this site. No other formats will be accepted.

Self nomination is accepted by IBANS members only.

Nominations can include previous category winners.

All submissions are reviewed by a panel of independent judges. Those submissions not meeting the specified criteria, including who can nominate or receive a nomination will be eliminated from their categories. If a submission is eliminated the nominator will be contacted advising them of the panel’s decision to exclude the submission.

Those nominations remaining are announced as finalists and the recipient will be presented with the award during a dinner in April.

Tips on How to Make a Winning Submission

To ensure your candidate has the best chance for success we recommend following the tips outlined in the accompanying video.



Submissions will be judged by an independent panel of five industry professionals.

The panel will consist of a combination of representatives from one or more of the following organizations: the Insurance Brokers Association of Canada (IBAC), Insurance Institute, other provincial Insurance Associations and retired industry peers from the broker channel as well as insurance company executives.

Judges will review all submissions utilizing online software.

Judges will work independently and not have access to view rankings made by any other judges.